Recommended browser versions: Firefox 17, Chrome 56, Safari 5.1, Internet Explorer 11 (or newer)

Useful Info

The following information is provided by Transport Department:
 
Vehicle Transfer
Within 72 hours on the change of ownership of a vehicle, a notice of transfer on form TD 25 must be lodged with the Transport Department licensing office, as proof that the transferor and transferee agree to the transaction. The new owner should deliver the original of the notice to the Transport Department, and the former owner the duplicate. There were cases in which transferees failed to take this procedure, thus, no transfer is registered, and the vehicle remains registered in the name of the former owner, to whom all fixed penalty tickets are sent. Therefore, it is advisable that the former owner should call at the licensing office together with the new owner to hand in both portions of the notice of transfer (duly completed and signed) so as to effect the transfer immediately. A former owner should not hand over the vehicle registration document to the new owner until the Transport Department has registered the transfer. The new owner's original identification documents should be produced.
When applying for transfer of ownership, the former owner and the new owner should also declare the transaction price of the motor vehicle on form TD 25. If the declared transaction price is greater than the last taxable value, the value of exempted accessories (if any), the value of unexpired portion of a warranty other than a manufacturer's warranty (if any) plus the first registration tax paid, the former owner should apply to the Hong Kong Licensing Office on application form TD 468 for approval and should pay the additional tax before the transfer of ownership is effected.
It is equally important for a prospective transferee to ensure that there are no outstanding penalties or possible license suspension in respect of the vehicle. There are numerous cases whereby a transferee finds himself legally liable to payment of fixed penalty tickets, or the vehicle license is suspended because the former owner has failed to disclose such information. To guard against this, a new owner is advised before acquiring a vehicle to apply to a licensing office for the relevant Certificate of Clearance. The Certificate, issued free of charge, is valid for 72 hours and certifies that the vehicle is free of outstanding penalties and is not liable to license suspension.
Enquiries
Application forms for registration and licensing of vehicles are available at the licensing offices of the Transport Department, the Home Affairs Department's public enquiry service centres and post offices. Application forms can also be obtained through the fax-on-demand service of the Transport Department Customer Service Hotline or Transport Department website.Please dial the Transport Department Customer Service Hotline 2804 2600 (24-hour service) or visit the Transport Department websitehttp://www.td.gov.hk/.


Transport Department forms and contact information:
                
Application for Certificate of Clearance 
Notice of Transfer of Ownership of A Vehicle
Licensing Offices address & office hours
Licensing Offices Locations and Contact 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

FAQ:

The buyer should first get an insurance policy on the car once a car trade has been agreed upon. If the seller is unwilling to provide a copy of the relevant vehicle registration document, the buyer should record details of the vehicle identity number, engine number, year, brand and model number as listed on the vehicle registration document and use those to apply for an insurance policy and to obtain a temporary vehicle insurance certificate.  After verifying there is no outstanding fines and records of traffic regulation violations on the car, the car can arrange to meet with the seller to proceed with the payment, ownership transfer and car handover.

 

For the seller, it is important to ensure completion car ownership transfer after full payment collection to avoid legal liabilities after the car trade.

Buyers and sellers often have to meet at a parking lot or at the side of a road to look over a car and to discuss terms of the trade.  They lack the right equipment to check out the car.  By choosing the Onsite Meeting and Car Look-Over Service, they will be able to meet at a safe and well-lit indoor environment and to look at the car chassis by using the car lifts there.  The buyer should ask the seller for the vehicle registration document to verify the owner's identity, the vehicle identification number, and to check the chassis number match that on the car. Before the transaction, the buyer can choose the Car Inspection Service to clearly understand the car condition.

The personal data of both parties will be recorded on the transfer document of the Transport Department. If the buyer and the seller do not wish to exchange copies of personal data at deal closure, they meet at the Transport Department together to process the car sale there, and to confirm that the car has no outstanding fines on it and that its licence has not been suspended.  The buyer and the seller may choose to use the Transaction Settlement Service and separately sign the car sales and purchase agreement and the relevant documents to car ownership transfer required by the Transport Department.  DCH Quality Used Car will keep all personal data on a confidential basis.

settle the outstanding loan to redeem the vehicle registration documents from financial institution before he or she can sell the car.

If the seller chooses the Transaction Settlement Service, DCH Quality Used Car will collect full payment from the buyer upfront on the seller’s behalf and then redeem the vehicle registration document for the seller. Thus, the seller does not need to come up with cash or use personal line of credit loan so that unnecessary cash use and finance charges can be avoided.

You may ask your relationship banks for updated financial products and services. A buyer can choose the Transaction Settlement Service, DCH Quality Used Car will provide details of interest rate and repayment plan and assist in getting car loan from selected banks and financial institutions.

The risks to the buyer and seller of a car trade are different.  The biggest risk to the buyer is getting a car different what the buyer bought for after full payment is made. Or, vehicle parts have been secretly swapped out.  In the Transaction Settlement Service process, the buyer can check the car condition before car ownership transfer.  Once acceptance of car conditioned is confirmed, the car can be parked free of charge at a designated location until transaction completion.

 

The biggest risk the seller is not getting paid after handing the car over and ownership transferred to the buyer.  The seller can opt for the Transaction Settlement Service of DCH Quality Used Car to eliminate the risk. If the buyer fails to make full payment after signing the contract, the vehicle registration document that the seller provided will be returned.  Once full payment is confirmed, car ownership transferred, and car delivery made, the seller receives a check issued by DCH Quality Used Car.

Those vehicles labelled "V" passed the Information verification procedure.  Meaning, on the day of check, the following details were checked against those listed on the vehicle registration document: (make, model, cylinder capacity, body color, first registration date, number of previous owners as posted on the website); chassis number/vehicle identification number on the car, full name of the owner and identification document number.

建議最佳瀏覽器為 Firefox 17 、Chrome 56 、Safari 5.1 、Internet Explorer 11 (或更新版本)

參考知識

以下資料由運輸署提供:
 
車輛轉讓
任何車輛在轉手後七十二小時內,有關車主必須遞交一份填妥及簽署的車輛過戶通知書(運輸署表格TD25),交予運輸署牌照事務處,以證明轉讓及承讓雙方均同意是項交易。新車主須向運輸署遞交通知書正本,而舊車主則呈交副本。以往曾有承讓人沒有履行義務,致令該轉讓事宜未能記錄在案,車輛仍以舊車主的名義登記,警方交通部繼續把所有違例定額罰款通知書寄予舊車主,故此,舊車主為保障個人利益,應約同新車主將簽妥的過戶通知書正副本親自交到牌照事務處,正式登記該項轉讓。舊車主在運輸署記錄該車的轉讓之前,不應將車輛登記文件交給新車主。申請承讓車輛登記的新車主,必須出示身分證正本。
申請車輛過戶時,買賣雙方須以運輸署表格(TD25)申報汽車的成交價。如申報的成交價高於車輛上次的應課稅值、免稅配件價值(如有)、非由製造商所提供的保養服務未滿期部分價值(如有)及首次登記稅的總和,舊車主應填妥運輸署表格(TD468),向香港牌照事務處申請批准,並須在過戶手續生效前,繳付附加稅。
購車者預備承購舊車時,須先確定該車並無罰款未清繳及未被停牌。以往曾有多宗個案,因舊車主並無透露有關資料,致令承讓者須負起法律上的責任,清付違例定額罰款,或其車輛暫被停牌。為防止這類事件發生,新車主在購車前,應先往牌照事務處申請有關車輛的無欠繳罰款及無違例記錄證明書,以確定該車並無涉及任何仍未清繳的罰款及暫停牌照。此等證明書完全免費,發出後有效期為七十二小時。
查詢詳情
辦理車輛登記及領牌的申請表,可向民政事務處諮詢服務中心、郵政局及運輸署牌照事務處索取。你亦可利用運輸署顧客服務熱線提供的圖文傳真服務或在運輸署網頁下載表格。請致電顧客服務熱線2804 2600(二十四小時服務)或瀏覽運輸署網頁http://www.td.gov.hk/.


運輸署相關表格及聯絡資料:
                
要求發給無欠繳罰款或訴訟費記錄及無違例記錄證明書之申請書
車輛過戶通知書 
牌照事務處地址及服務時間
聯絡運輸署 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

常見問題:

簡單來說,雙方就汽車價格達成共識後,買家須購買汽車保險。如賣方不願提供車輛登記文件副本,買家便須記錄車輛登記文件上的汽車身分號碼、引擎號碼、年份、品牌、型號,以便申請汽車保險,取得汽車臨時保險證。查證無欠繳罰款、無違例記錄後,買家可相約賣家進行付款、車輛過戶及交收。 

 

賣家除全數收取付款外,還須妥善完成所售車輛的過戶手續,以免售後承擔法律責任。

通常,買賣雙方約見查看車輛時,往往局限於停車場或馬路邊見面,欠缺所需器材和設備,不便買賣雙方磋商和檢查車輛。選擇場所約見及檢視汽車服務,可確保在安全、照明良好的室內環境唧起汽車檢查。買家須要求賣家提供車輛登記文件,以確認車主身份、汽車身分號碼、引擎、號碼與車輛相同。交易前,買家可選擇汽車檢驗服務,清楚了解車輛狀況。

雙方個人資料將記錄於運輸署轉讓文件之上。如買賣雙方不欲於交易時交換個人資料副本,可相約至運輸署直接執行車輛轉讓手續,同時可確定車輛無欠繳罰款及未被停牌。買賣雙方可選用交易結算服務,各自分別簽署合約和運輸署轉讓文件。雙方提供的資料均絕對保密,只用作辨理車輛轉名。

賣家須先向提供貸款 的銀行或金融機構贖回車輛登記文件,才可轉售。 

賣家可選擇交易結算服務,代賣家先收取買家繳付的全數款項,再代辦贖回車輛登記文件。如此一來,賣家便毋須事先安排現金或個人信貸,避免多餘的資金轉移或信貸費用。

金融產品及服務日新月異,您的相熟銀行和金融機構可為您提供最新資訊和諮詢。如買家選用交易結算服務,會為買家提供利息、月供計劃詳情,並安排於合作銀行和金融機構提供貸款。

買賣雙方顧慮的風險不一。對買家來說,最大的風險為全數付款後,收取的車輛與交易前所見的不同,或其零件被暗中更換。交易結算服務流程中,車輛過戶前,買家可再次檢查車輛狀況,確定後車輛可免費停泊於服務中心,直至完成交易。 

對賣家來說,最大的風險是車輛已交予買家或過戶,卻收不到付款。要免除風險,可選用交易結算服務。如買家簽約後未能全數付款,將向賣家退還其提供的車輛登記文件。確定全數付款及車輛一經過戶,賣家將同時收到大昌行簽發的款項支票。

加上識別標籤「V」的車盤,皆通過資料驗證程序。在核對當日,驗明以下資料與車輛登記文件上的相同:網上所提供的(廠名、型號、汽缸容量、車身顏色、首次登記日期、前任車主數目);車身上底盤號碼/車輛識別號碼、引擎號碼;車主全名及身份證明文件號碼。